Deep Yoga Level 2/3


This class is taught by:

Lakshmi Norwood

Lakshmi is a practitioner of the yogic arts, an enquirer into Spirit life and a maverick in the milieu of popular yoga. A longtime student of Mark Horner (Director, Hatha Yoga Shala East Bay) and Mukunda Stiles (Structural Yoga Therapy, Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, Yoga & Ayurveda, Tantra Yoga Secrets), Lakshmi teaches classes, workshops, courses in Hatha Yoga and specialized series for advanced students. Lakshmi is considered a "teachers' teacher" and has a unique ability to articulate the personal significance of ancient teachings for the modern practitioner. She has written course curriculum, teacher training manuals and numerous articles on yoga. She speaks locally and nationally on the practice and philosophy of yoga and is committed to living its principles.
 
 

Why yoga?
For me, Yoga is the most direct and unfettered path to experience Spirit within.

 

Who or what inspires you?

Many years ago, I walked into the classroom of a teacher with a longstanding lineage behind him. I was drawn to the power and intimacy of the practice, and I see now that such rich teachings cannot be passed on without conviction, dedication and patience on the part of both teacher and student. This live transmission is a powerful, inspiring force that continues to inspire me every day.

 

Three adjectives that describe you and your teaching style:
Fire. Maverick. Potency.

 

Where are you the most fearlessly authentic in your life?
There is nowhere I am not authentic
. . . whether I am hugging my daughters, getting angry at my husband, headed to the opera or procrastinating. Some things we find pleasant, others not, but they are all equally real.

 

What is something not a lot of people know about you?
1) I like Scotch
2) I actually won a watermelon seed spitting contest

 


This class is designed for students with experience and provides a supportive, challenging environment in which to advance your practice. Dynamic preparatory work, structured asana/vinyasa, breathing and meditation will be part of every class. Energetic and philosophical principles will be threaded throughout class, providing theoretical context for the physical practice. You will leave feeling strong, inspired and connected to yourself. Classroom may or may not be heated.

Upcoming classes:

  • Sat Aug 26 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Sep 02 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Sep 09 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Sep 16 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Sep 23 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Sep 30 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Oct 07 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Oct 14 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Oct 21 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Oct 28 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Nov 04 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Nov 11 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Nov 18 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Nov 25 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Dec 02 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Dec 09 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood
  • Sat Dec 16 7:30 am - 9:00 am with Lakshmi Norwood